Bayer Center Nonprofit Technology Survey

Life online: unexpected survey traffic

with one comment

My coworkers will tell you this: I neurotically check all of the avenues by which surveys are received during this project. I sweat the mail delivery every day. I looked at the stats of visits to our survey blog page, oh, hourly. I look at our online survey site multiple times a day, hoping to see that total number of surveys received climb.

Imagine my surprise yesterday when the blog hits started climbing, for no apparent reason. Yesterday and today represent the second argest 2-day volume of visits during the project. The only larger 2-day volume followed an intimate email blast to 1100 of our closest friends. Imagine my excitement when the online surveys started rolling in at a surprising rate. I stalked the office trying to figure out if someone had sent a message that would drive new traffic. I inspected the incoming surveys to make sure they were legit. They were. And there was no discernible pattern among respondents; they work in every mission category and around the region.

Clearly, someone linked to us somewhere. The blog stats don’t tell me which site is responsible for all the new traffic, but we’ll take it. If you can explain our sudden burst of traffic, please leave a comment.

Written by Jeff Forster

August 6, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Posted in Survey Progress

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s exciting. Here’s a heads-up: I’m probably going to link to this post from our blog, http://nten.org/blog today! You should include a link to find out more about and/or take the survey from your posts, or have it somewhere prominent on this page – I couldn’t find the obvious place to click!

    Annaliese

    August 8, 2008 at 1:57 pm


Leave a Reply

